Labor History and Workplace Studies | Special Collections and University Archives
Labor History and Workplace Studies
Our labor collections are comprised of AFL-CIO Department records, trade department records, international union records, union programs, union organizations with allied or affiliate relationships with the AFL-CIO, and personal papers of union leaders. We also have extensive photo documentation of labor union activities from the 1940s to the present in the photographic negative and digital collections. Additionally, collections of graphic images, over 10,000 audio tapes, several hundred films and videotapes, and over 2,000 artifacts are available for research and study.
The University of Maryland emphasizes the collecting of archival resources and other collections that document the history of the labor movement in North America and the Washington, DC/Maryland region. These materials help researchers better understand pivotal social movements in this country, including those to gain rights for women, children and minorities.
George Meany AFL-CIO Archive
Newly acquired collections from the George Meany Memorial AFL-CIO Archive are not yet represented in ArchivesUM. All archival materials that were previously open for research at the George Meany Memorial AFL-CIO Archive are available. To request access, contact us.
Note: Some collections are stored off-site and will take at least two days to retrieve; many records are restricted or closed.
Shipping and Shipbuilding in Maryland
Additional labor collections are found in this guide to Labor in America.
The Carpenter Magazine
A publication produced by the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of American of newsworthy events within the union.
A publication produced by the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO). Volumes 1-25 (1956-1980) are available; each volume can be searched separately by keyword.